You are currently viewing West Indies vs Australia: Match Highlights

West Indies vs Australia: Match Highlights

Spread the love

On July 10, West Indies vs Australia T20, ODI Series 2021 kicked off. The World Cup defending champions, West Indies, is led by Kieron Pollard, whereas Aaron Finch is leading the Australian front. However, this time the Australian side has several fresh faces in their playing eleven. The first match concluded on July 10 at Daren Sammy National Cricket Stadium, Gros Islet, St. Lucia. West Indies team beat the Aussies in the first T20I.

Take a look at the Squads-

Australia: Aaron Finch (c), Matthew Wade (w), Mitchell Starc, Adam Zampa, Josh Hazlewood, Riley Meredith, Ben McDermott, Jason Behrendorff, Alex Carey, Andrew Tye, Mitchell Swepson, Wes Agar, Mitchell Marsh, Moises Henriques, Ashton Turner, Josh Philippe, Daniel Christian, Ashton Agar.

West Indies: Kieron Pollard (c), Nicholas Pooran (w), Andre Russell, Dwayne Bravo, Akeal Hosein, Obed McCoy, Fidel Edwards, Evin Lewis, Lendl Simmons, Chris GayleShimron Hetmyer, Andre Fletcher, Sheldon Cottrell, Oshane Thomas, Hayden Walsh, Kevin Sinclair.

West Indies vs Australia: First T20I

Cricket fans hoped for a thrilling match and, both the teams lived up to the expectations. West Indies were the ones to bat first in the initial innings. They showed a decent game while putting 145 runs on the scoreboard, with the loss of six wickets. The big-hitting performance by Andre Russell contributed a fifty to the West Indies team. Moreover, the superb bowling deliveries by Obed McCoy and Hayden Walsh proved to be nightmares for Aussies.

Then, in the second half of the innings, Australia had a hard time with the bat. Skipper Aaron Finch’s early wicket immensely impacted the game. Thereupon in the later part, Obed McCoy and Walsh wrecked the batting lineup. Interestingly, the Aussies had 108 runs in the loss of 4 wickets, but when they reached 126, they were all out! Therefore, McCoy is the player of the match. He took four wickets by giving 26 runs.

The second T2OI match will start at 5 AM IST on Sunday, June 11.


Subsrcibe Here!

Leave a Reply